. .
Malaysia Hifi Hi-End Audio Equipment Hi-Fi Malaysia Audio Review Forum
Hifi Malaysia Hi-End Audio Equipment Hi-Fi Malaysia Audio Review Forum Hi Fi Systems Home Theatre Home Cinema System  
 
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia HiFi . com Forum Index » Speaker
. subwoofer Go back
Author Message
robina_80

Joined: Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 3
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message
Post Post subject: subwoofer
hi guys,
im looking into buying a NAD C352CT and a sub but my question is the nad has only 1 pair of speaker channels and there going to be used by my floorstanders or bookshelf so does this mean if i want to buy a sub i cant
sonyman

Joined: Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 238
Location: Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Post Post subject:
is this nad amp u getting a integrated or a power amp only, i bet u sure need a preamp right?

and most preamp has the output through rca for recording, or to the power amp.

u can get a active powered sub and use the rca or sub input from the preamp or the amp rca output.

with a active sub u could control the cut of freq ...

hope u could add a sub to ur system
robina_80

Joined: Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 3
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message
Post Post subject:
its intergrated
sonyman

Joined: Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 238
Location: Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Post Post subject:
then u can use the output of the amp to input into the active sub that u will be getting, it is no prob
skareb

Joined: Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 141
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message
Post Post subject: Re: subwoofer
robina_80 wrote:
hi guys,
im looking into buying a NAD C352CT and a sub but my question is the nad has only 1 pair of speaker channels and there going to be used by my floorstanders or bookshelf so does this mean if i want to buy a sub i cant


This was my 2nd amp and its an impressive amp. You can hooked up your subwoofer assuming its an active sub thru the pre1 and pre2 out. If you put your sub RCA to pre1 then you've to hooked your link from pre2 to main.

You can tweak your 352CT, I've an extra DIY QED silverspiral RCA 6" for the pre to main. It really boost the sound, better clarity and dynamic, bass also better. If you wan I can let go RM100 nett price.
_________________
tkyong1

Joined: Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Location: KL
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Post Post subject:
Hi there,
I am facing lacking in lower bass and kick since I have set my system up in my living hall (22' x 16') year ago.

Last week end, one of my business friend gave me a sub (as he claimed, a quality from his co. imported from China, meant for export market), with piano finish (very nice one) & a 12" woofer.

Called CMY, they advised to give it a try by connect via the speaker outlets at the back of my Primare I20 to the sub's input.

Tuning:
Connect via speaker outlets to sub input.
Tune the crossover to 80 hz (found 120 hz is overlapping my main).
Phase to 0 degree.

Result: more solid bass, music sound much fuller & complete, now can play at high level without complaints from wife, she like it too since she always the Primare + Proac125 lacking in the bottom end.

Questiona:
Q1: Whats the purpose of Phase? 0 - 180 degree????
Q2: Is the connect advised by CMY correct, i presume so.

Your advise needed.

Many thanks.
_________________
My System:
Primare D20MKII + Primare I20+ ProAc Studio 125
My Cabling:
Siltech Paris I/C + QED Plus Bi-Wire
sonyman

Joined: Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 238
Location: Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Post Post subject:
no idea , but since it sounds correct, then i would presume that it is ok lah,

if u wanna know, let Uncle Vic the sub expert do some explaining, hehe, he is the sub king.
eddylws

Joined: Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 73
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Post Post subject:
Yeah, i agree with you Sonyman, Uncle VIc could give you some advise.

Eddy Lim
skareb

Joined: Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 141
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message
Post Post subject:
tkyong1 wrote:

Called CMY, they advised to give it a try by connect via the speaker outlets at the back of my Primare I20 to the sub's input.

Tuning:
Connect via speaker outlets to sub input.
Tune the crossover to 80 hz (found 120 hz is overlapping my main).
Phase to 0 degree.

Result: more solid bass, music sound much fuller & complete, now can play at high level without complaints from wife, she like it too since she always the Primare + Proac125 lacking in the bottom end.

Questiona:
Q1: Whats the purpose of Phase? 0 - 180 degree????
Q2: Is the connect advised by CMY correct, i presume so.

Your advise needed.

Many thanks.
Laughing

Actually the prefered way for sub extention is with dedicated RCA out for sub but for some reason some amp like the primareI20 and I21 do not have this option so thats why CMY advise you to connect it to the speakerline.

For phasing between Oº and 180º thats gotta do with the fusing with your enviroment. I find not much different between the both but for ICE setup this makes a lot of different. Anyway just listen to both phasing and which ever sounds good just stick with it. If your sub do not come with the phasing option you can simply reverse the speaker connection between the - and + its the same thing
_________________
Vic

Joined: Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Kuala Lumpur
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message
Post Post subject:
Smile Hi there,


Yes, it's like what Skareb said. The phase should be selected to
integrate with your main speakers. It's however different if running
mutiple subwoofers, zero phase is suitable if front firing and between the main speakers. Still zero phase if down fiiring without ports, with ports you might want to try halfway if control is variable.


Single subwoofer, it's better to get some measuring instruments
besides tuning by ear to get to accurate & useable results. The room interactions might interfere with the integration somehow.
So get the help of someone who knows about mesurements. Your
friendly CMY people perhaps.


Not everyone has a ear for subwoofer tuning, hence the best bet is
still to do some measurements before and after tuning. To tune by
ear, the use of piano pieces will get you closer to a useable setting,
then again not everyone listen to piano, it's rather boring to some.
To get you to an ideal setting you have to get some measurements
for sure.

Smile


Hi Sonyman, me no sub expert liao, just try and play-play only, lor.
Laughing
sonyman

Joined: Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 238
Location: Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Post Post subject:
hi uncle vic, we all pian chiak pian chiak only mah, know abit abit can liau loh.

but among so many of us i think u have the most no. of sub in a setup.

i dont even own a sub at all, so i practically got the slightest idea
Vic

Joined: Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Kuala Lumpur
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message
Post Post subject:
Smile


We tend to overlook instances when multiple subwoofers are used.
If you remember the KLIAV show over the lst 4 years, there was this
demo of the BBC LS3/5a, some if not most of us here have listened
to that setup. Did anyone realised that the sound you listened to
was made up of the ls3/5a speakers plus 2 passive subwoofers and
a active subwoofer? No? You never? Wink


And yet, we might find hooking up large floorstanders with just 1
subwoofer could be 'overkill'! We have been made to believe that
it's alright to hook up a subwoofer to satelites or smallish speakers.
Large speakers are different matter altogether.



The ls3/5a could also be hooked up to just 1 active subwoofer
without the purpose made bass extender(the passive subwoofer
design) the AB-1s. What I heard was reallly different with just 1
subwoofer trying to cover the range where the passive subwoofers
operate and as well as covering the subsonic region of the low Hz!
I would still prefer the bass extenders plus the active subwoofer.
The music is just so much better sounding this way! Very Happy


Mutiple subwoofers hooked to systems are not new, it's being
around for quite a while now. Users cited many reasons for it.
However, none with the approach of achieving more 3D imagings,
wider and more extensive soundscape and more perceived
ambiences and improved highs and much papable vocals! This
had to be done in a different approach from the usual way of
doing things, a more scientific & analytical approach has to be
adopted to achieve notable or perceivable results. However,
these results may not be your ordinary idea of hifi sound & may not
be deemed acceptable. One comment I would dare say is if
you want your system to sound out of the ordinary and different
from those of the 'average joe' you got to spend more $$$$ or
work/tweak/whatever on your existing system! Either you pay
someone to do it for you or you do it yourself, that is if you know
how!
tkyong1

Joined: Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Location: KL
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Post Post subject:
I have being playing, tuning my free sub for past 2 days.
What I could say is...prefer my system sounding with the sub-on, doesn't care what peoples saying that adding sub is no good for 2 channel set-up. Practically, I found it sound better with sub, unless we are using large floorstander + adequate power amp + reasonable size room. Running a moderate amp in large room, a sub is a must.

I have being changing cables, tweaking this and that just to improve bass for past 2 years....finally....a sub cure my problem...once for all.....finally....sad..being spending so much on those unnecessary items....bad...the dealer never suggest me to do it this way....some of them claimed sub is no no for hifi..dont blaim them....its business.....once they cure your problem = no more upgrade for them = no more $$$...hahaha Laughing

Still trying to find the best place for my sub..it's just too big.....like a small furniture stool.... 12" one leh....

Welcome any advise on placement and crossover setting.
Many thanks
_________________
My System:
Primare D20MKII + Primare I20+ ProAc Studio 125
My Cabling:
Siltech Paris I/C + QED Plus Bi-Wire
Vic

Joined: Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Kuala Lumpur
spacer
Reply with quote View user's profile Send private message
Post Post subject:
Smile Hi TK Yong, you like to invite us for a listen? You like us to give
you a hand? Smile
Display posts from previous:   
.
.
.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia HiFi . com Forum Index » Speaker All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Google
 
Web www.malaysiahifi.com
 
 
   

Sponsored by Malaysia HiFi . com  |  Leading Malaysia HiFi Audio Review & Audiophile Forum  |  
.
. . .